Ocean Shores Public School

Do Your Best

Telephone02 6680 2766


Learning at our school

Current educational practice requires all schools to teach in stages.

The content we teach is provided in a syllabus for each subject or key learning area (KLA).This is called a curriculum.

We teach towards achieving outcomes in each subject.

Stages of learning

There are 6 stages of learning from Kindergarten to Year 12. Primary school covers Early Stage 1, or Kindergarten, to the end of Stage 3.

  • Stage 1 includes Kindergarten to Year 2 (Kindergarten is referred to as Early Stage 1).
  • Stage 2 includes Years 3 and 4.
  • Stage 3 includes Years 5 and 6.

Early stage 1 is an introductory stage and students generally complete this in Kindergarten. Stages 1 - 3 are each completed over a two year cycle.

This is based on the idea that many aspects of the curriculum we teach needs to be revisited and retaught many times in order that children can learn, use and remember concepts.

Therefore children in the first year of each stage (years 1, 3 & 5) will not necessarily be judged as being completely able to achieve each outcome although they will be developing and progressing towards this.

National Assessment Plan for Literacy & Numeracy (NAPLAN)

All children in years 3 and 5 in schools throughout Australia sit for a nationwide NAPLAN test to assess their skills in numeracy, literacy and primary writing.

This assessment provides detailed information about your child's performance within these areas and as a national benchmark assist schools to better meet your chil's individual scholastic needs.

Key Learning Areas (KLA)

The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) is responsible for the curriculum, Kindergarten to Year 12, for all NSW schools.

For the primary years, NESA develops syllabuses for all subjects in 6 key learning areas:

  • creative arts
  • English
  • human society and its environment (HSIE)
  • mathematics
  • personal development, health and physical education (PDHPE)
  • science and technology.

Some primary schools may also offer languages.

NSW schools also offer special religious education and special education in ethics via approved providers, where available.

Like all NSW schools, we have developed teaching and learning programs to suit our local context and the needs of our students.

To learn more about curriculum in NSW, visit:

Proud of our resources

Ocean Shores Public School has excellent resources we are proud to offer your child including:

  • Fantastic library and reading resource room that is well equipped with a huge variety of quality up to date literacy resources to assist all students at all levels or learning.
  • Outstanding technology resources that are accessed by all students.
  • Attractive and interesting school grounds including our gardens, yarning circle and wetland trail.
  • Wonderful school hall that is used for concerts, dance, sport, public speaking and community events.
  • Support programs such as literacy and numeracy support and learning assistance program (LAP). School based, regional and area office personnel support to assist students to confidently reach their personal best.
  • Electronic whiteboards in every classroom.
  • High quality support unit that caters for students with disabilities.